Why Sponsor a child?

I recently signed on to sponsor a child through GMM.  A friend suggested I write a bit about why.

I live in Kirkland, WA which is s suburb of Seattle located pretty close to the Microsoft campus and a few miles away from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.   Living this close to Microsoft has definitely impacted the way I live.  This is a relative affluent area in an affluent country.

Living this close to the Gates Foundation has (hopefully) impacted the way I think.

The Gates Foundation is dedicated to the belief that All Lives Have Equal Value.  Today, not all individuals have equal opportunities to thrive.  I believe that if people in rich areas of the world believe that we can change circumstances for people in less fortunate areas of the world, we will.

GMM has shown me that I can definitely make a difference for my sponsored child, and has also made it very easy for me to do.  A couple clicks on the sponsorship site, and donation amounts about equivalent to what my family pays for cable TV, and my sponsored child will have safe drinking water, clothes, food, schooling fees and required equipment and healthcare.

Leaving me asking, “Why not sponsor a child?”  I can’t think of any reason.

I am grateful to GMM for helping connect me to the opportunity to help a child in need of help.  This child is of equal value to every other child in the world, and deserves the opportunity to grow up healthy and well-educated.  I think it’s a privilege to be part of making that happen.

Categories: Children | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

